Is it that bad?

Schools Facing Cuts if Lunches Aren’t Paid For

2 responses to “Is it that bad?

  1. I hope you don’t mind that I edited your post so that the headline is more prominent. As I mentioned in class, what happens in K-12 education in New York City often trickles up to the CUNY colleges in a few years, so I try to keep an eye on news stories about education. This story makes me wonder if forcing school principals to chase down parents to recover relatively small sums of money ($0.25 per day for the 75% of students who qualify for reduced price lunch) is such a good use of their time, considering they are experienced education professionals who earn a good salary.

    Everyone is encouraged to share news stories that are relevant to the study of media and information. I’ll continue to bring them to class and post them on the blog, also. ~Prof. L.

  2. This is an interesting article due to the fact that I can personally recalled when certain students had to pay for school lunch because of their parents high income. Yet I can vividly remember that those students will pay the first few weeks and then not pay at all for the rest of the remaining semester. Yet even though these students will stop paying they still receive free lunch like the rest of us in the end. I guess our economy has really hit down the drain if the principal has to go out of her way and personally ask students down the hall for money now.

Leave a comment